Best laptops under £500 UK 2026
Four Windows laptops and two Chromebooks that were under £500 on 26 October, all with sensible specs for the money, plus the specs to avoid and a warning about chargers.

Our top pick
HP 15 (15-fd1004sax)
A Core 5 processor and a 512GB SSD, which is the spec Which? suggests aiming for, sold by Amazon for just under £500.
- Best budget Windows laptopHP 15 (15-fd1008nax)Check price
More quick picks (4)
- Best ASUS alternativeASUS Vivobook 15 X1504MA, Intel Core 5 315, 8GB DDR5, 256GB SSDCheck price
- Best from Laptops DirectHP 250R G9, Intel Core 5, 8GB, 256GB SSD, 15.6in, Windows 11Laptops Direct
- Best ChromebookASUS Chromebook Plus 14 CX3402CVA, Intel Core 3 100U, 8GB, 128GBCheck price
- Cheapest good optionASUS Chromebook 14 CX1405, Intel Celeron N50, 4GB, 64GB eMMCCheck price
How we chose: I searched Amazon.co.uk and Laptops Direct for laptops under £500 and kept only those sold by Amazon or Laptops Direct itself, in stock on 26 October 2026, with at least 8GB of RAM and 256GB of storage for Windows (Which?'s recommended minimums) or a Chromebook. I left out third-party listings with only one or two in stock and models with very slow processors or tiny storage. Specs come from the retailer listings; I haven't used these laptops myself. These products have not been tested hands-on; this is a research-based roundup. How the research works.
You can get a perfectly good everyday laptop for under £500 in 2026, but this is the price where corners get cut. Rising memory prices mean some cheap Windows laptops still ship with too little storage or slow processors, and many new laptops now come without a charger in the box.
For a Windows laptop, Which? recommends at least an Intel Core 3 or AMD Ryzen 3 processor, 8GB of RAM and 256GB of storage, and ideally a Core 5 or Ryzen 5 with 512GB. Every Windows pick here meets the minimum. If your work is mostly browsing, email and Google Docs, a Chromebook gives you a smoother experience for less money.
Buying for university or college? Our student laptops guide also covers MacBooks and more powerful Windows laptops. For a home office, see our office chairs and standing desks guides.
Who this guide is for: Anyone who needs a laptop for browsing, email, video calls, documents and streaming, and doesn't want to spend more than £500. None of these is suitable for gaming or serious video editing.
Black Friday tip: Laptops are often discounted on Black Friday, but budget models are also where retailers clear older, lower-spec stock. Compare the processor, RAM and storage, not just the headline saving, and check whether a charger is in the box.
Comparison table
| Pick | System | Processor | RAM / storage | Screen | Charger in box? | Where to buy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HP 15 (15-fd1004sax)Best overall | Windows 11 | Intel Core 5 120U | 8GB / 512GB SSD | 15.6in | No (USB-C) | Check price |
| HP 15 (15-fd1008nax)Best budget Windows laptop | Windows 11 | Intel Core 3 100U | 8GB / 512GB SSD | 15.6in anti-glare | No (USB-C) | Check price |
| ASUS Vivobook 15 (X1504MA)Best ASUS alternative | Windows 11 | Intel Core 5 315 | 8GB DDR5 / 256GB SSD | 15.6in Full HD | No (65W USB-C) | Check price |
| HP 250R G9 (Core 5, 8GB, 256GB)Best from Laptops Direct | Windows 11 | Intel Core 5 | 8GB / 256GB SSD | 15.6in Full HD | Check listing | Laptops Direct |
| ASUS Chromebook Plus 14 (CX3402CVA)Best Chromebook | ChromeOS | Intel Core 3 100U | 8GB LPDDR5 / 128GB UFS | 14in Full HD | Not stated | Check price |
| ASUS Chromebook 14 (CX1405)Cheapest good option | ChromeOS | Intel Celeron N50 | 4GB / 64GB eMMC | 14in Full HD | Not stated | Check price |
Specs are from manufacturer listings as of 26 October 2026; claimed figures (running costs, runtimes) are the maker’s, not ours. Check the retailer’s page for the current price and exact variant before you buy.
The picks in detail
HP 15.6" Laptop 15-fd1004sax, Intel Core 5 120U, 8GB, 512GB SSD
Best for: Most people who want a dependable Windows laptop for under £500
- System
- Windows 11
- Processor
- Intel Core 5 120U
- RAM / storage
- 8GB / 512GB SSD
- Screen
- 15.6in
- Charger in box?
- No (USB-C)
This HP 15 pairs an Intel Core 5 120U processor with 8GB of RAM and a 512GB SSD, so it has room for your files and enough power for everyday work, video calls and streaming. HP lists a camera with a privacy shutter, dual microphones and a 15.6in screen with slim bezels.
The catch is that it doesn't come with a charger: it charges over USB-C, so you'll need a USB-C power adapter if you don't already have a suitable one. On 26 October it was sold and shipped by Amazon for just under £500.
What owners and reviewers like
- Core 5 processor
- 512GB SSD
- Sold by Amazon
Watch-outs
- No charger in the box
- 8GB RAM rather than 16GB
Check current price on Amazon Affiliate link · opens Amazon.co.uk
HP 15.6" Laptop 15-fd1008nax, Intel Core 3 100U, 8GB, 512GB SSD
Best for: Browsing, email and documents on a tighter budget
- System
- Windows 11
- Processor
- Intel Core 3 100U
- RAM / storage
- 8GB / 512GB SSD
- Screen
- 15.6in anti-glare
- Charger in box?
- No (USB-C)
The same HP 15 design with a slower Intel Core 3 100U processor, which is Which?'s recommended minimum for Windows. It keeps the 8GB of RAM and 512GB SSD, and the listing quotes up to 10.75 hours of battery life and an anti-glare screen.
It's a sensible choice if your use is mainly web, email and Office documents and you'd rather save money. Like the Core 5 model, there's no charger in the box. On 26 October it was sold and shipped by Amazon.
What owners and reviewers like
- 512GB SSD at a lower price
- Anti-glare screen
- Sold by Amazon
Watch-outs
- No charger in the box
- Core 3 is the minimum, not the ideal
Check current price on Amazon Affiliate link · opens Amazon.co.uk
ASUS Vivobook 15 X1504MA, Intel Core 5 315, 8GB DDR5, 256GB SSD
Best for: Anyone who keeps most files in the cloud
- System
- Windows 11
- Processor
- Intel Core 5 315
- RAM / storage
- 8GB DDR5 / 256GB SSD
- Screen
- 15.6in Full HD
- Charger in box?
- No (65W USB-C)
ASUS's Vivobook 15 uses an Intel Core 5 315 processor with six cores, 8GB of DDR5 RAM and a 15.6in Full HD screen. Which? recommends DDR5 over older DDR4 memory where you can get it.
Storage is 256GB, the minimum Which? suggests for Windows, so it suits people who store photos and documents in OneDrive or Google Drive. It needs a 65W USB-C charger, which isn't included. On 26 October it was sold and shipped by Amazon.
What owners and reviewers like
- Six-core Core 5 processor
- DDR5 RAM
- Full HD screen
Watch-outs
- 256GB fills up quickly
- No charger in the box
Check current price on Amazon Affiliate link · opens Amazon.co.uk
HP 250R G9, Intel Core 5, 8GB, 256GB SSD, 15.6in, Windows 11
Best for: A plain, business-style laptop from a specialist retailer
- System
- Windows 11
- Processor
- Intel Core 5
- RAM / storage
- 8GB / 256GB SSD
- Screen
- 15.6in Full HD
- Charger in box?
- Check listing
HP's 250 range is its no-frills business line, and this G9 version has an Intel Core 5 processor, 8GB of RAM, a 256GB SSD and a 15.6in Full HD screen, with a one-year warranty.
Laptops Direct is a UK laptop specialist that also sells refurbished machines and extended warranties. On 26 October it listed this model for just under £500 with next-day delivery. Check the listing for the exact processor model and what's in the box before you order.
What owners and reviewers like
- Business-style build
- Next-day delivery from Laptops Direct
- Full HD screen
Watch-outs
- 256GB storage
- Exact processor model not named in the title
Check price at Laptops Direct Not an affiliate link at the moment · opens laptopsdirect.co.uk
ASUS Chromebook Plus 14 CX3402CVA, Intel Core 3 100U, 8GB, 128GB
Best for: Browsing, Google Docs and online work, with a quicker processor than most Chromebooks
- System
- ChromeOS
- Processor
- Intel Core 3 100U
- RAM / storage
- 8GB LPDDR5 / 128GB UFS
- Screen
- 14in Full HD
- Charger in box?
- Not stated
'Chromebook Plus' models must meet Google's higher minimum spec, and this ASUS has an Intel Core 3 processor and 8GB of RAM, which is plenty for ChromeOS. It has a 14in Full HD screen and a UK keyboard.
ChromeOS runs well on modest hardware, so this will feel quicker than a Windows laptop at the same price for browsing and online apps. Check the software you need runs on ChromeOS first. On 26 October it was sold by Amazon, with only a few left.
What owners and reviewers like
- Chromebook Plus spec
- 8GB RAM is plenty for ChromeOS
- 14in Full HD screen
Watch-outs
- Can't run full Windows software
- Low stock on 26 October
Check current price on Amazon Affiliate link · opens Amazon.co.uk
ASUS Chromebook 14 CX1405, Intel Celeron N50, 4GB, 64GB eMMC
Best for: Children's homework, or a light second laptop for browsing
- System
- ChromeOS
- Processor
- Intel Celeron N50
- RAM / storage
- 4GB / 64GB eMMC
- Screen
- 14in Full HD
- Charger in box?
- Not stated
The cheapest laptop here is a basic 14in Chromebook that weighs 1.39kg, opens flat to 180 degrees and has HDMI, USB-C and USB-A ports. Which? says 4GB of RAM and 64GB of storage is enough for ChromeOS if you keep files in the cloud.
It's slow for heavy multitasking, and some owners say it can lag, but it suits homework and web use. You can use Microsoft 365 in the browser, but not desktop Windows apps. On 26 October it was sold and shipped by Amazon.
What owners and reviewers like
- Lowest price here
- Light at 1.39kg
- HDMI port
Watch-outs
- Celeron processor is slow for multitasking
- Only 64GB storage
Check current price on Amazon Affiliate link · opens Amazon.co.uk
For Windows, look for an Intel Core 3 or AMD Ryzen 3 processor at minimum (Core 5 or Ryzen 5 is better), at least 8GB of RAM and at least 256GB of SSD storage. Which? warns that Windows itself takes up a good chunk of the storage. Be wary of Windows laptops with Intel Celeron or Atom processors, 4GB of RAM or less than 256GB of storage: they'll feel slow quickly.
For a Chromebook, the bar is lower: 4GB of RAM and 64GB of storage is workable, and a 'Chromebook Plus' model with 8GB will feel noticeably quicker.
Many laptops sold in the UK now arrive without a charger, to cut electronic waste. All the HP and ASUS Windows laptops here charge over USB-C and ship without an adapter. Check the wattage the listing asks for (the ASUS needs 65W) and use a USB-C PD charger at least that powerful. A lower-wattage phone charger may charge it very slowly or not at all.
Choose Windows if you need desktop software such as full Microsoft Office apps, specialist course software or older printers and devices. Choose a Chromebook if you mainly use the web, Google Docs or Microsoft 365 online: it's simpler, starts faster and gets automatic updates. Which? recommends a Chromebook if you want to spend under £300.
Buy from the retailer itself rather than an unknown marketplace seller, so returns and warranty claims are straightforward. Laptops Direct also lists Apple's cheapest MacBook, the MacBook Neo, though it costs more than £500.
We use MailerLite to send emails. See our privacy policy.
FAQs
What's the best laptop under £500 in the UK?
For most people, the HP 15-fd1004sax: an Intel Core 5 processor, 8GB of RAM and a 512GB SSD, sold by Amazon for just under £500. Remember it has no charger in the box.
Is 8GB of RAM enough?
For Windows, 8GB is the minimum Which? recommends and is fine for browsing, email and documents. 16GB is better if you keep lots of tabs and apps open, but it's hard to find under £500. For a Chromebook, 4GB to 8GB is enough.
Is a Chromebook better than a cheap Windows laptop?
For web-based work, often yes: ChromeOS runs smoothly on cheaper hardware. But it can't run full Windows software, so check your apps first.
Can I get a MacBook for under £500?
Not new. Apple's cheapest MacBook, the MacBook Neo, costs more. See our student laptops guide for MacBooks.
Have you tested these laptops?
No. This guide is based on the retailers' published specs, Which?'s buying advice and owner feedback. See how we research.
Do you get commission?
Yes. If you buy through Amazon links on this page, Amazon may pay me a small commission at no extra cost to you. The Laptops Direct links aren't affiliate links at present. See the affiliate disclosure.
Prices change constantly, so we don’t list them here. Always check the current price, seller and delivery details on the retailer’s site before buying. If anything on this page looks wrong or out of date, let me know.